Working Groups


Working Groups are at the heart of the Clean Slate Project.   

The Working Group Members:

  • Play an active role in drafting the solution sets;
  • Gather input from their constituencies/communities to inform the working group’s proposals; and
  • Assist in the planning of convenings related to their working group’s focus area, including providing with input on panel topics, panelists and participants


I. Building Worker Power at the Sectoral, Value Chain, Enterprise and Worksite Level and Expanding Who Has the Right/Obligation To Bargain:

I.A. Levels of bargaining:  sectoral bargaining; mechanisms for tripartite bargaining; value-chain bargaining; the future of enterprise bargaining


  1. Kate Andrias (co-chair), Professor of Law, University of Michigan Law School
  2. Larry Cohen (co-chair), Chairman, Our Revolution
  3. Craig Becker, General Counsel, AFL-CIO
  4. Cindy Estrada, Vice President, UAW
  5. Matt Finkin, Professor of Labor and Employment Law, University of Illinois College of Law
  6. Cathy Ruckelshaus, General Counsel, National Employment Law Project
  7. Dorian Warren, President, Center for Community Change

I.B. Who bargains and what do we bargain over: definition of employer; range of workers who have the right to bargain; “codetermination,” workers on corporate boards and worker ownership; scope of bargaining subjects


  1. Sarita Gupta (co-chair), Co-Executive Director, Jobs With Justice
  2. Raj Nayak (co-chair), Deputy Executive Director, NELP
  3. Nicole Berner, General Counsel, SEIU
  4. Rakeen Mabud, Fellow, Roosevelt Institute
  5. Brishen Rogers, Associate Professor, Temple University Beasley School of Law
  6. Mark Schneider, General Counsel, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW)


II. Available Forms of Worker Organizations:

II.A. Organizations for worker power:  works councils; members-only unions; consumer, community and worker campaigns; political and advocacy organizations for workers; strengthening existing unions


  1. Catherine Fisk (co-chair), Barbara Nachtrieb Armstrong Professor of Law, Berkeley Law
  2. David Rolf (co-chair), President Emeritus, SEIU Local 775
  3. Jennifer Abruzzo, Special Counsel for Strategic Initiatives, Communications Workers of America
  4. César F. Rosado Marzán, Associate Professor of Law, Co-Director of the Institute for Law and the Workplace, Chicago-Kent College of Law
  5. Kris Rondeau, Harvard Union of Clerical and Technical
  6. Andrew Strom, Associate General Counsel, Service Employees International Union 32BJ
  7. Alexandra Suh, Executive Director, Koreatown Immigrant Workers Alliance (KIWA)

II.B. Facilitating the formation and sustainability of powerful worker organizations:  models for generation of revenue and for sustaining institutions; facilitating the choice of worker organization (setting the default, mandating elections)


  1. Celine McNicholas (co-chair), Director of Labor Law and Policy, Economic Policy Institute
  2. Judy Scott (co-chair), Partner, James & Hoffman, P.C.
  3. Matt Ginsburg, Associate General Counsel, AFL-CIO
  4. Gerry Hudson, Executive Vice President, SEIU
  5. Shayna Strom, National Advocacy Director and Deputy Political Director, ACLU
  6. Karla Walter, Director, Employment Policy, Center for American Progress
  7. Gwynne Wilcox, Partner, Levy Ratner, P.C.

III. Establishing the Scope and Power of Collective Action: new pathways for building power; strike rights; defining the scope for boycotts, pickets and other forms of collective action; right to collective action in the nonunion workplace


  1. Charlotte Garden (co-chair), Professor, Seattle University School of Law
  2. Saket Soni (co-chair), Executive Director, National Guestworker Alliance
  3. Stephen Lerner, Fellow, Georgetown University Kalamanowitz Center
  4. Mike Manley, Staff Attorney, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
  5. Michelle Miller, Co-Founder and Co-Director,
  6. Jake Rosenfeld, Associate Professor of Sociology, Washington University in St Louis
  7. Adam Shah, Senior Policy Analyst, Jobs With Justice
  8. Erica Smiley, Co-Executive Director, Jobs With Justice
  9. George Wiszynski, Associate General Counsel, United Food and Commercial Workers

IV. Building Worker Power Through Benefits Provision and Enforcement:

IV.A. Benefits: using worker organizations to administer portable benefits; adapting a Ghent-type system for the U.S.; facilitating use of worker owned/controlled capital


  1. Matt Dimick (co-chair), Professor, University of Buffalo School of Law
  2. Aijen Poo (co-chair), Director, National Domestic Workers Alliance
  3. Jim Conigliaro, Founder, Independent Drivers Guild
  4. Natalie Foster, Fellow, Future of Work Initiative, Aspen Institute
  5. David Madland, Senior Advisor, American Worker Project, Center for American Progress
  6. Jamil Poonja
  7. Richard Resnick, Sherman Dunn, P.C., General Counsel, IBEW and North America’s Building Trades Unions

IV.B. Enforcement: creative redesign of enforcement regimes to build worker power; reopening access to the courts for workers; addressing employer intransigence


  1. Terri Gerstein (co-chair), Director, State and Local Enforcement Project, Labor and Worklife Program, Harvard Law School
  2. Sean Goldhammer, Dallas Staff Attorney, Workers Defense Project
  3. Jane Flanagan, Visiting Scholar, Chicago-Kent Law School and Leadership in Government Fellow, Open Society Foundations
  4. Richard Griffin, Of Counsel, Bredhoff & Kaiser
  5. Emily Spieler, Professor of Law, Northeastern University School of Law
  6. David Weil, Dean and Professor, Heller School for Social Policy & Management, Brandeis University

V. Empowering Labor Law Reform By Updating Other Legal Regimes: antitrust; corporate; immigration; constitutional; criminal; consumer; voting rights and campaign finance


  1. K. Sabeel Rahman (co-chair), President, Demos and Associate Professor of Law, Brooklyn Law School
  2. Lynn Rhinehart (co-chair), Former General Counsel, AFL-CIO
  3. Mary Joyce Carlson, Attorney, Fight for Fifteen
  4. Benjamin Elga, Executive Director, Justice Catalyst
  5. Ruben Garcia, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Research, UNLV, Boyd School of Law
  6. Miles Rapoport, Senior Practice Fellow in American Democracy, Harvard Kennedy School
  7. David Seligman, Attorney, Towards Justice


See also: Clean Slate

Share on: